Built-in USB charging luggage for travel can keep a phone within reach, but the port is usually a pass-through that needs a separate power bank. My best overall pick is the OIWAS Expandable Carry-On for its combination of expandable storage, spinner wheels, and a charging port. The LOVEVOOK 22-inch carry-on stands out for travelers prioritizing a stated airline-size format, while the Merax five-piece set suits buyers who need multiple case sizes and a cup holder. The main tradeoffs are airline fit, battery access, front-pocket utility, and whether you need one case or a set. Read on for the full comparison and a guide to choosing the right setup.
Get travel and outdoor gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The OIWAS carry-on is the best overall fit in this lineup for shoppers seeking a single expandable spinner with USB charging, rather than a multi-case set.
- USB ports do not replace a power bank: the luggage provides access for charging, so buyers should check how a battery is stored and removed before flying.
- Front-pocket designs prioritize quick access to items such as a laptop, but they can add bulk and make the loaded case feel different from a simple hardside shell.
- Top-opening options trade familiar packing access for convenience and combine the opening style with extras such as a cup holder; skip them if you prefer a conventional clamshell.
- The product list includes several close variants, including wine-red and navy versions of a laptop-compartment carry-on, so color and minor listing differences matter less than verified dimensions and layout.
| built in usb charging luggage for travel | Material | Wheels | Lock | Dimensions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OIWAS Expandable Carry-On Lugg | Polycarbonate | 360° spinner wheels | TSA-approved lock | 21.7 × 12.2 × 9.8 inches |
| Carry on Luggage Top Opening S | Polycarbonate blend | 4 spinner wheels | TSA lock | 22 × 14 × 9 inches |
| Carry On Luggage Airline Appro | Polycarbonate | Spinner wheels with brake | TSA-approved combination lock | — |
| 20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Airli | Polycarbonate | 360° spinner wheels with shock absorption | TSA-approved combination lock | 22 × 14.5 × 9 inches |
| Carry-On Luggage with Top Open | ABS+PC hard shell | 360° silent spinner wheels | TSA combination lock | 22 × 14 × 9 inches |
| Carry On Luggage Airline Appro | Polycarbonate (PC), ABS | 4 spinner wheels | TSA-approved lock | 22.2 x 14.4 x 8.9 inches |
| Carry On Luggage Airline Appro | Polycarbonate | 4 spinner wheels with brake system | TSA-approved combination lock | 22 x 13.78 x 9.45 inches |
| imiomo 20-Inch Carry-On Luggag | ABS | 4 360-degree spinner wheels | Embedded TSA lock | — |
| Merax 5 Piece Luggage Set Fron | ABS | 360-degree rotating rollers | TSA lock | — |
| Carry-On Luggage Expandable Tr | Polycarbonate | 4 | TSA-approved combination lock | 22 x 14 x 9 inches |
| LOVEVOOK Carry On Luggage 22×1 | Polycarbonate | Silent 360° TPE spinner wheels | TSA-approved | 22 x 14 x 9 inches |
| 20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Airli | Polycarbonate | 360° spinner wheels with shock absorption | TSA-approved combination lock | 22 x 14.5 x 9 inches |
More Details on Our Top Picks
OIWAS Expandable Carry-On Luggage with USB Charging Port, Airline Approved Hard Shell Suitcase with Spinner Wheels
I’d put the OIWAS Expandable Carry-On first for travelers who want charging access without giving up a manageable carry-on weight. Its USB-A and Type-C ports offer more connection flexibility than a USB-only setup, though you still need to supply a power bank. At 6.83 pounds, it is lighter than the 7.61-pound B0GVYZZ5H7 carry-on, which leaves a little more room in a weight-conscious packing plan. The 37-liter interior expands to 44 liters for return-trip extras, but the listed capacity and carry-on format point to short trips rather than extended travel. I’d choose it over the top-opening B0FYNPR2YH if simple, conventional packing matters more than quick access to the front compartment and cup holder. Its main compromise is that expansion can make overhead-bin fit less predictable.
Pros:- USB-A and Type-C ports provide two charging connection options.
- 6.83-pound listed weight helps keep the case manageable for carry-on travel.
- Expansion increases capacity from 37L to 44L for extra items on the return trip.
- TSA-approved lock and 360-degree spinner wheels suit routine airport travel.
Cons:- A separate power bank is required; the luggage does not supply battery power.
- The 37L base capacity is better suited to short trips than longer itineraries.
- Expanding the case may make overhead-bin fit less certain.
Best for: Business travelers and weekend flyers who want a light carry-on, both USB-A and Type-C access, and a modest expansion option.
Not ideal for: Travelers who need a power bank included, pack for trips longer than several days, or routinely use strict overhead-bin limits with the case expanded.
- Dimensions:21.7 × 12.2 × 9.8 inches
- Weight:6.83 pounds
- Capacity:37L, expandable to 44L
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Expansion:2 inches
- Charging ports:USB and Type-C
- Wheels:360° spinner wheels
- Lock:TSA-approved lock
Our verdict“Choose the OIWAS if you want a relatively light short-trip carry-on with USB-A and Type-C ports, and can provide your own power bank.”
Carry on Luggage Top Opening Suitcases, Expandable with Cup Holder and USB Charging Port, Lightweight with Front Pocket and Spinner Wheels
The standout here is not just its USB and Type-C charging ports, but the top-opening layout paired with a front laptop compartment. That arrangement can make it easier to reach work gear or a packed item without opening the whole suitcase flat, a useful difference from the more conventional OIWAS Expandable Carry-On. The 14% expansion, cup holder, and four spinner wheels also make it a convenience-focused choice for airport transfers. I’d favor this model over the B0FYNQJ8FX when a dedicated front compartment and cup holder are priorities, though both share the top-opening concept and require a separate power bank. The tradeoff is protection: its listing says it is not water resistant, and the front pocket may not suit larger belongings. I’d skip it for trips where rain exposure or generous laptop storage is a concern.
Pros:- USB and Type-C ports support two common charging connections when paired with a power bank.
- Top-opening design and front laptop compartment make essentials easier to reach.
- 14% expansion offers extra packing flexibility.
- Cup holder and four spinner wheels add practical airport convenience.
Cons:- No built-in power bank is included.
- The product is listed as not water resistant.
- The front compartment may be too limited for larger items.
Best for: Frequent flyers who carry a laptop and want quick access to travel essentials, a cup holder, and an external charging connection.
Not ideal for: Travelers who face wet commutes, need a roomy front compartment for bulky devices, or expect charging ports to work without their own power bank.
- Dimensions:22 × 14 × 9 inches
- Expansion:14%
- Material:Polycarbonate blend
- Wheels:4 spinner wheels
- Lock:TSA lock
- Charging ports:USB and Type-C
- Water resistance:Not water resistant
- Handle:Telescopic extendable handle
Our verdict“Pick this model if quick laptop access and airport convenience matter more than water resistance or a spacious front pocket.”
Carry On Luggage Airline Approved 20 Inch Expandable PC HardShell Suitcase with Front Pocket, USB Charging Port, Spinner Wheels, TSA Lock
For a carry-on centered on work travel, I like the clarity of its 20-inch format and front compartment listed to hold laptops up to 15.6 inches. The top-mounted USB-A and Type-C ports keep the charging connection easy to reach, while the 45-liter capacity gives it more stated room than the OIWAS’s 37-liter base capacity. That extra space comes with a cost: at 7.61 pounds, it is heavier than the OIWAS, and the front pocket may still feel tight for larger laptops despite the stated limit. Its 1.5-inch expansion is more restrained than the OIWAS’s two-inch expansion, which may appeal to travelers who want some flexibility without relying on a large expansion gusset. As with the other USB-port cases here, you must provide the power bank. The wheel brake adds stability, but the TSA lock may take some getting used to.
Pros:- Front laptop compartment is specified for devices up to 15.6 inches.
- 45-liter capacity provides more stated interior room than the OIWAS’s 37-liter base capacity.
- Top-mounted USB-A and Type-C ports keep charging access within reach.
- Spinner wheels include a brake for added stability when stationary.
Cons:- At 7.61 pounds, it is heavier than the OIWAS carry-on.
- The front compartment may be tight for laptops near its stated size limit.
- Power bank is not included, and the TSA lock may feel cumbersome to some users.
Best for: Work travelers with a laptop up to 15.6 inches who want a dedicated front compartment, substantial stated capacity, and accessible charging ports.
Not ideal for: Travelers with larger laptops, those prioritizing the lightest case, or buyers expecting an included battery.
- Size:20 inches
- Weight:7.61 pounds
- Capacity:45 liters
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Expansion:1.5 inches
- Laptop capacity:Up to 15.6 inches
- Charging ports:Top-mounted USB-A and Type-C
- Wheels:Spinner wheels with brake
- Lock:TSA-approved combination lock
Our verdict“Choose this carry-on for its laptop-focused layout and 45-liter capacity, provided its weight and front-pocket fit work for your setup.”
20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Airline Approved Expandable Hardside Suitcase with Laptop Compartment, USB Port, TSA Lock, and 360° Spinner Wheels – Wine Red
I’d choose this Wine Red carry-on when laptop fit is the deciding factor: its compartment is listed for devices up to 16 inches, larger than the 15.6-inch limit on the B0GVYZZ5H7. Its USB-A and USB-C ports also match that model’s charging flexibility, but neither case includes the power bank needed to use them. Capacity grows from 38L to 46L, making this a roomier option than the OIWAS at its base capacity. The tradeoff is that its 22 × 14.5 × 9-inch dimensions and expanded size may be less compatible with some budget airline overhead-bin rules. I’d compare those limits with your carrier before choosing it, especially if you expect to use the expansion. The wine-red finish and shock-absorbing spinner wheels add distinction, but the listed organization features are limited.
Pros:- Laptop compartment is specified for devices up to 16 inches.
- USB-A and USB-C ports offer flexible charging connections with a separate power bank.
- Capacity expands from 38L to 46L.
- Polycarbonate shell and shock-absorbing 360° spinner wheels support airport handling.
Cons:- Expanded dimensions may not fit some budget airline overhead-bin limits.
- Power bank is not included.
- Organization compartments may be limited for travelers who separate many small items.
Best for: Laptop-carrying flyers who need space for a device up to 16 inches and want expandable capacity in a hardside carry-on.
Not ideal for: Travelers on airlines with tighter carry-on limits, people who need a battery included, or packers who rely on extensive interior organization.
- Dimensions:22 × 14.5 × 9 inches
- Capacity:38L to 46L
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Laptop size:Up to 16 inches
- Charging ports:USB-A and USB-C
- Wheels:360° spinner wheels with shock absorption
- Lock:TSA-approved combination lock
- Color:Wine Red
Our verdict“Choose this wine-red model if a 16-inch laptop compartment and expandable space outweigh the risk of tighter airline fit.”
Carry-On Luggage with Top Opening, Expandable, Cup Holder, USB Charging Port, Lightweight Front Pocket, Spinner Wheels
This is the better fit for travelers who want top-opening access plus a laptop compartment rated for a 16-inch device. Its half-opening back compartment is designed to let you reach belongings without spreading the entire case open, a different approach from the front-laptop layout of the B0GVYZZ5H7. The external USB and Type-C ports are useful only with a separate power bank, so the charging convenience is about access, not built-in battery capacity. A 14% expansion, cup holder, silent spinner wheels, and three-level aluminum handle round out its airport-focused design. Compared with B0FYNPR2YH, it offers a stated 16-inch laptop fit, but its ABS+PC shell may be heavier than soft-sided luggage, and no weight is provided. I’d pick it for access and organization, not for a guaranteed lightweight carry-on.
Pros:- Top-opening design and half-opening back compartment offer access without fully opening the suitcase.
- Laptop compartment is specified to fit devices up to 16 inches.
- USB and Type-C ports provide two charging connections when paired with a separate power bank.
- 14% expansion, cup holder, and silent spinner wheels support airport convenience.
Cons:- A power bank must be purchased or supplied separately.
- No listed weight makes it difficult to compare carry-on heft with the OIWAS.
- ABS+PC hard-shell construction may weigh more than soft-sided alternatives.
Best for: Travelers with a laptop up to 16 inches who prefer top-opening packing and want a cup holder alongside external charging ports.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need an included power bank, prioritize a documented low weight, or prefer a soft-sided case.
- Dimensions:22 × 14 × 9 inches
- Expansion:14% capacity increase
- Material:ABS+PC hard shell
- Charging ports:External USB and Type-C; separate power bank required
- Laptop compartment:Fits up to 16-inch laptop
- Wheels:360° silent spinner wheels
- Lock:TSA combination lock
- Handle:Three-level adjustable aluminum handle
Our verdict“Pick this case if you value top-opening access and a 16-inch laptop compartment more than a listed low weight or included battery.”
Carry On Luggage Airline Approved 20 Inch Hardside Suitcase with Spinner Wheels, TSA Lock & USB Charging Port
At 7.9 pounds, this carry-on puts a straightforward USB charging setup into a relatively light, 36-liter case. The port can keep a phone accessible while you move through the airport, but you’ll need to provide a power bank; the luggage itself does not supply power. Compared with the 20-inch expandable PC suitcase with front pocket, this model gives up the dedicated laptop-access compartment and extra packing flexibility in favor of a simpler layout. Its polycarbonate-and-ABS shell, TSA-approved lock, spinner wheels, and waterproof interior pocket cover useful travel basics without adding a front compartment. The tradeoff is capacity: 36 liters is a tighter fit for longer trips, and buyers looking for more USB connection options or expansion should choose another pick.
Pros:- Light 7.9-pound weight helps keep the case manageable when fully packed.
- Built-in USB port provides a convenient charging connection when paired with a power bank.
- TSA-approved lock and four spinner wheels add useful airport-travel features.
- Waterproof interior pocket separates items that need extra protection.
Cons:- Power bank is not included, so the USB port cannot charge devices on its own.
- 36-liter capacity may feel restrictive on longer trips.
- No expansion or front-access laptop compartment.
Best for: Carry-on travelers packing for a short trip who want a lightweight hard-shell case with a USB port and organized interior storage.
Not ideal for: Business travelers needing quick laptop access or travelers who want expandable space, since this case has neither a dedicated front laptop compartment nor an expansion feature.
- Dimensions:22.2 x 14.4 x 8.9 inches
- Weight:7.9 lbs
- Capacity:36 L
- Material:Polycarbonate (PC), ABS
- Wheels:4 spinner wheels
- Lock:TSA-approved lock
- Charging:USB port; power bank not included
- Water resistance:Water-resistant
Our verdict“Choose this for short trips when a lighter, uncomplicated carry-on matters more than expansion or laptop access.”
Carry On Luggage Airline Approved, 20 Inch Expandable PC HardShell Suitcase with Front Pocket, USB Charging Port, Hardside Case with Brake Spinner Wheels TSA Lock for Travel
This is the strongest fit here for travelers who want to reach a laptop without opening the main suitcase. Its front laptop compartment pairs with two charging ports—Type-A and Type-C—so a power bank can feed devices through more than one connection type. Compared with the basic 20-inch carry-on in this roundup, it offers more listed capacity at 45 liters and expands by 1.5 inches, making it better suited to trips where packing needs can change. The brake spinner wheels add control when you pause in a queue, while the TSA combination lock handles standard security checks. The tradeoffs are a front compartment that may be too tight for larger laptops and extra bulk when expanded; as with the other USB-equipped cases, the power bank is not included.
Pros:- Dedicated front laptop compartment makes work devices easier to reach.
- Two USB connection types accommodate Type-A and Type-C charging cables.
- 45-liter capacity and 1.5-inch expansion offer more packing flexibility than the 36-liter basic carry-on.
- Brake-equipped spinner wheels can help keep the suitcase in place when stopped.
Cons:- Power bank is not included and is required to use the charging ports.
- Front laptop compartment may not fit larger computers.
- Expanded dimensions add bulk and may be less convenient in tight overhead spaces.
Best for: Business travelers carrying a laptop up to the front compartment’s fit limit who want quick access and both Type-A and Type-C charging connections.
Not ideal for: Travelers with larger laptops or those who prioritize a slim, simple shell, because the front pocket can be restrictive and expansion adds bulk.
- Dimensions:22 x 13.78 x 9.45 inches
- Weight:7.61 lbs
- Capacity:45 L
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Expansion:Adds 1.5 inches
- Wheels:4 spinner wheels with brake system
- Lock:TSA-approved combination lock
- Charging:2 ports: Type-A and Type-C; power bank not included
Our verdict“Pick this for work trips when laptop access and two USB port types matter more than keeping the carry-on narrow.”
imiomo 20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Set with Front Pocket, USB Port, Spinner Wheels, and TSA Lock, Pink
The imiomo stands apart from the single-case options by bundling a 20-inch carry-on, handbag, and toiletry bag. That makes it useful for travelers who prefer to divide essentials across smaller pieces rather than rely on one expanded suitcase. The carry-on’s front pocket fits a laptop up to 15.6 inches, giving it a more defined device-access setup than the basic carry-on, while the USB port can connect to a power bank for charging on the move. The listed YKK zippers and TSA lock add practical details, though the shell is ABS rather than the polycarbonate used in the laptop-first expandable model. The compromise is the laptop-size limit and the need to bring your own power bank; buyers seeking more expansion or a sturdier polycarbonate shell may prefer another option.
Pros:- Three-piece set separates carry-on packing, personal items, and toiletries.
- Front compartment provides quick access to laptops up to 15.6 inches.
- USB charging port can connect to a traveler-provided power bank.
- YKK zippers, four spinner wheels, and an embedded TSA lock add practical travel details.
Cons:- Power bank is required and not included.
- Laptop compartment does not accommodate computers larger than 15.6 inches.
- ABS shell differs from the polycarbonate construction of some competing picks.
Best for: Travelers who want a coordinated carry-on, handbag, and toiletry bag, with quick access to a laptop no larger than 15.6 inches.
Not ideal for: People carrying larger laptops or seeking an expandable polycarbonate suitcase, since the laptop compartment has a stated size limit and the shell is ABS.
- Set contents:20-inch carry-on, handbag, toiletry bag
- Material:ABS
- Laptop compartment:Fits up to 15.6-inch computer
- Wheels:4 360-degree spinner wheels
- Handle:Three-section telescopic handle
- Lock:Embedded TSA lock
- Charging:USB port; requires a power bank
- Zippers:YKK
Our verdict“Choose this set if coordinated extra bags and a front-access laptop pocket matter more than expansion or a polycarbonate shell.”
Merax 5 Piece Luggage Set Front Opening Expandable Hardside Carry On Suitcase with Double Spinner Wheels TSA Lock USB Port and Cup Holder,20″ 24″ 28″(Antique blue green)
Merax is the broadest luggage package in this group: it combines a 20-inch carry-on with 24- and 28-inch suitcases, a duffel, and a toiletry bag. The USB port and data cable are built into the carry-on, while its front opening gives quick access to small essentials and electronics; a cup holder adds another convenience absent from the imiomo set. The larger checked cases expand, so this set serves both short getaways and longer trips better than a single carry-on such as the basic 36-liter model. The tradeoff is that the product data gives little detail on the carry-on’s size, weight, or capacity, making its fit harder to judge. The power source is not included, and buyers needing a clearly specified laptop compartment should look to the imiomo or the laptop-first expandable case instead.
Pros:- Five-piece set covers carry-on, medium and large checked luggage, duffel, and toiletry storage.
- Carry-on USB port and data cable provide a charging connection with an external power source.
- Front opening and cup holder offer quick access and a place to carry a drink.
- 24- and 28-inch suitcases expand for trips requiring extra packing room.
Cons:- Power supply is not included for USB charging.
- Carry-on capacity, weight, and dimensions are not specified in the provided product data.
- No stated dedicated laptop compartment, unlike the imiomo and laptop-first expandable models.
Best for: Households or frequent travelers who need several suitcase sizes plus a duffel and toiletry bag, and value front access and a built-in USB connection.
Not ideal for: Solo travelers wanting a clearly specified lightweight carry-on or laptop compartment, since the supplied details do not state carry-on capacity, weight, or laptop fit.
- Set contents:20-inch carry-on, 24-inch medium suitcase, 28-inch large suitcase, duffel bag, toiletry bag
- Material:ABS
- Carry-on charging:USB port and data cable; power supply not included
- Expansion:24-inch and 28-inch suitcases expand
- Wheels:360-degree rotating rollers
- Lock:TSA lock
- Storage:Zippered compartments and retractable cross straps
- Additional feature:Carry-on cup holder
Our verdict“Choose Merax when you need a multi-size luggage set for varied trip lengths, but skip it if exact carry-on fit or laptop storage is a priority.”
Carry-On Luggage Expandable Travel Suitcase with TSA Lock and USB Ports
This gray carry-on favors a simple expandable shell over a front-access laptop compartment. Its top-opening design and stated 14% capacity increase give travelers room to adjust packing for a return trip, while built-in USB and Type-C ports offer charging connections when paired with a power bank. Compared with the front-pocket, 45-liter expandable case in this roundup, this model keeps the storage approach more conventional; it may suit travelers who do not need to reach a laptop without opening the main case. Polycarbonate construction, four spinner wheels, and a TSA combination lock cover the core travel needs. The tradeoffs are a top opening that some travelers may find less convenient and the lack of water resistance. The provided weight is only described as lightweight, so buyers who need a precise empty-case weight should choose a better-documented option.
Pros:- Expansion adds a stated 14% capacity for trips with changing packing needs.
- Built-in USB and Type-C ports support different charging connections with a power bank.
- Polycarbonate shell, four spinner wheels, and a telescoping aluminum handle provide practical travel hardware.
- TSA-approved combination lock adds a standard security feature.
Cons:- Not water-resistant, unlike the water-resistant basic carry-on and Merax set.
- Top-opening layout may be less convenient for some packing and access needs.
- Exact weight is not provided; it is described only as lightweight.
Best for: Travelers who want expandable packing space and USB plus Type-C charging but do not need a dedicated front laptop compartment.
Not ideal for: Travelers who need stated water resistance, a precise suitcase weight, or quick laptop access without opening the main compartment.
- Dimensions:22 x 14 x 9 inches
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Weight:Described as lightweight; exact weight not provided
- Wheels:4
- Lock:TSA-approved combination lock
- Charging:Built-in USB and Type-C ports
- Expansion:14% increase in capacity
- Handle:Telescoping aluminum handle
- Water resistance:Not water-resistant
Our verdict“Pick this for flexible packing and two USB connection types if you can do without a front laptop pocket and water resistance.”
LOVEVOOK Carry On Luggage 22x14x9 Airline Approved, Expandable Hard Shell Suitcase with Spinner Wheels, USB Charging Port & TSA Lock
LOVEVOOK’s 40L-to-48L expansion gives this carry-on an advantage for trips that may stretch beyond a few days: the extra room can reduce the need to squeeze in essentials or carry a separate bag. Its USB charging port adds convenient access to device charging, though you’ll need your own power bank. Compared with the navy 20-inch carry-on in this roundup, LOVEVOOK lists a larger capacity range and a 15.6-inch laptop limit rather than 16 inches. That makes it a better fit for packing flexibility than for larger laptops. The polycarbonate shell, TSA lock, and silent 360-degree wheels cover practical travel needs, but the supplied data gives no suitcase weight, and a full expanded load may be cumbersome. Choose it for extra space, not the lightest possible carry.
Pros:- Expandable capacity increases from 40L to 48L for added packing flexibility.
- Polycarbonate shell has a scratch-resistant surface.
- Silent 360-degree TPE spinner wheels support smoother maneuvering.
- Includes a USB charging port and TSA-approved lock.
Cons:- A power bank is needed to use the USB charging port, but is not listed as included.
- The suitcase weight is not provided, making it harder to judge carry-on handling.
- Expanded capacity can encourage a heavier load that may be cumbersome.
Best for: Travelers taking three-to-five-day trips who want expandable packing space and carry a laptop no larger than 15.6 inches.
Not ideal for: Travelers prioritizing a lighter bag or needing a dedicated fit for a laptop larger than 15.6 inches; the suitcase weight is not provided.
- Dimensions:22 x 14 x 9 inches
- Expandable capacity:40L to 48L
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Laptop compatibility:Up to 15.6 inches
- Wheels:Silent 360° TPE spinner wheels
- Lock:TSA-approved
- Side-hook weight capacity:5 lbs
- Charging:USB charging port
Our verdict“Choose LOVEVOOK if you want more expandable capacity for a multi-day trip and can accept uncertainty about the suitcase’s weight.”
20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Airline Approved Expandable Hardside Suitcase with Laptop Compartment, USB Port, TSA Lock, and 360° Spinner Wheels (Navy Blue)
The standout here is the combination of a dedicated laptop compartment and USB-A and USB-C ports, which gives work travelers a more direct setup for keeping a device close and charging on the move. The product lists support for laptops up to 16 inches, a slightly larger fit than the 15.6-inch maximum listed for the LOVEVOOK. Its capacity expands from 38L to 46L, so it offers useful extra room but less total capacity than LOVEVOOK at both listed endpoints. A cup holder and shock-absorbing 360-degree wheels add travel convenience, though the description does not specify the compartment layout in detail. The power bank is not included, and the expanded size may not fit some budget airline overhead bins. I’d pick this for laptop access, not for maximum packing room.
Pros:- Dedicated laptop compartment supports laptops up to 16 inches.
- USB-A and USB-C ports offer two charging connection types.
- Expandable capacity grows from 38L to 46L.
- Polycarbonate shell, TSA-approved combination lock, and shock-absorbing spinner wheels support practical travel use.
Cons:- Power bank is not included, so the USB ports need a separate power source.
- Expanded dimensions may not fit some budget airline overhead bins.
- Interior organization compartments may feel limited for travelers who sort many small items.
Best for: Frequent flyers who carry a laptop up to 16 inches and want a dedicated compartment plus USB-A and USB-C charging access.
Not ideal for: Travelers who need the greatest listed packing capacity or plan to use budget airlines with restrictive overhead-bin limits, especially when expanded.
- Size:20-inch carry-on
- Dimensions:22 x 14.5 x 9 inches
- Capacity:38L to 46L
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Laptop compatibility:Up to 16 inches
- Charging ports:USB-A and USB-C
- Wheels:360° spinner wheels with shock absorption
- Lock:TSA-approved combination lock
- Color:Navy blue
Our verdict“Choose this navy carry-on if laptop access and dual USB port types matter more than the larger capacity range offered by LOVEVOOK.”

How We Picked
I compared these 12 options by how well their stated features serve travelers who want charging access without losing practical carry-on function. The main criteria were the presence of a USB port, expandable capacity, stated airline sizing, wheel setup, TSA lock, and usable access to a front or laptop compartment. I also considered whether a product is a single carry-on or a larger set, since those serve different packing needs rather than competing on the same terms.
The ranking favors useful combinations over the longest feature list. A straightforward expandable carry-on earns a stronger general-purpose position than a set designed for several trip lengths, while front-pocket and top-opening models rank higher for travelers who value quick access. The listings do not establish battery inclusion, exact internal capacity, or airline acceptance across carriers, so I treat those as points for shoppers to verify rather than assume. Similar color variants are kept distinct in the lineup but are not treated as meaningfully different designs without evidence.
| built in usb charging luggage for travel | Material | Charging ports | Lock |
|---|---|---|---|
| OIWAS Expandable Carry-On Lugg | Polycarbonate | USB and Type-C | TSA-approved lock |
| Carry on Luggage Top Opening S | Polycarbonate blend | USB and Type-C | TSA lock |
| Carry On Luggage Airline Appro | Polycarbonate | Top-mounted USB-A and Type-C | TSA-approved combination lock |
| 20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Airli | Polycarbonate | USB-A and USB-C | TSA-approved combination lock |
| Carry-On Luggage with Top Open | ABS+PC hard shell | External USB and Type-C; separate power bank required | TSA combination lock |
| Carry On Luggage Airline Appro | Polycarbonate (PC), ABS | — | TSA-approved lock |
| Carry On Luggage Airline Appro | Polycarbonate | — | TSA-approved combination lock |
| imiomo 20-Inch Carry-On Luggag | ABS | — | Embedded TSA lock |
| Merax 5 Piece Luggage Set Fron | ABS | — | TSA lock |
| Carry-On Luggage Expandable Tr | Polycarbonate | — | TSA-approved combination lock |
| LOVEVOOK Carry On Luggage 22×1 | Polycarbonate | — | TSA-approved |
| 20-Inch Carry-On Luggage Airli | Polycarbonate | USB-A and USB-C | TSA-approved combination lock |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Built In Usb Charging Luggage For Travel
USB charging is only one part of choosing a carry-on. I’d first match the bag’s size and access layout to how you travel, then check the battery arrangement and the details that affect airport handling. These checks help avoid buying a feature-rich case that does not fit your packing habits.
Check the battery arrangement before focusing on the port
A USB port on a suitcase is generally a connection point, not a built-in battery, so check whether a power bank is included and where it sits. If the battery is separate, confirm that the internal cable and pocket fit the bank you already own. Airline rules can require power banks to travel in the cabin and may restrict where they can be stored, so a battery that is awkward to remove can become a hassle at security or the gate. Do not assume that a port means you can charge devices without opening the case. Compare the port’s placement with how you carry the suitcase, since a cable can snag if it sits near a handle or wheel. For occasional charging, a simple pass-through may be enough; frequent device use makes accessible battery storage more important.
Verify carry-on dimensions for your actual route
Labels such as “airline approved” are not a guarantee that a bag meets every airline’s rules. Measure the full exterior, including wheels, handles, and any expanded section, then compare it with the carriers and fare types you use most. An expandable case may offer useful extra room, but opening it can push the bag beyond a strict cabin limit. This matters most on budget or regional flights, where cabin allowances can be smaller. If you often connect across airlines, choose based on the tightest limit you expect to face rather than a single carrier’s allowance. Leave some packing slack so an overfilled front compartment does not turn a compliant case into an oversized one.
Choose a pocket layout that matches what you carry
A front laptop compartment can make airport screening and in-flight access easier, but it takes space from the main packing area and can change how weight sits on the wheels. It is useful for travelers who keep a computer, documents, or a tablet close at hand; it is less useful if electronics already travel in a personal item. Top-opening designs can offer access in tight spaces where a full clamshell is awkward, though they may not suit buyers who prefer to lay both halves flat for packing. Cup holders add convenience during transit but are not a substitute for secure storage. Before choosing an unusual layout, think through where you will place the case in a cramped aisle or hotel room. A familiar design may be easier to manage if you share luggage with other travelers.
Decide whether expansion or a fixed packing footprint matters more
Expansion is helpful for return trips, souvenirs, or layers, but it can encourage overpacking and make the suitcase harder to lift. Check whether the expanded zipper changes the case’s depth enough to affect overhead-bin fit. If you normally pack light and prioritize easy handling, a non-expanded configuration may be more useful than extra capacity. When choosing a set, consider how often you will use the larger pieces; a five-piece bundle adds size options but also takes storage space at home. One carry-on is usually simpler for short trips and frequent flights, while a set makes more sense for varied trip lengths or shared household use. Match capacity to your usual travel pattern, not the longest trip you might take once.
Treat wheels, locks, and shell materials as separate checks
Spinner wheels help with multidirectional movement through terminals, but wheel count alone does not tell you how well they will handle rough pavement or a heavy load. A brake feature can be useful on sloped floors, though it adds a mechanism that buyers should inspect in product details. A TSA lock can make checked-bag handling more convenient, but it does not replace keeping valuables with you. Likewise, “PC” or “hardside” labels do not establish impact performance or long-term durability by themselves. Look for clear information about shell composition, wheel construction, handles, and warranty coverage before treating the case as a long-term purchase. These details can matter more than a cup holder or extra port when the bag will see frequent use.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does built-in USB charging luggage come with a power bank?
Do not assume it does. A USB port on luggage commonly works as a pass-through connection to a separately purchased power bank stored inside the case. Check the product listing for a battery included in the package, the battery pocket location, and how the cable connects. If no battery is supplied, confirm that your own bank fits and can be removed easily. This matters because you may need to take the power bank out for airline or security requirements.
Can I use the USB port while the suitcase is in an overhead bin?
It depends on the port location, your cable length, and whether the suitcase is accessible once stowed. A port on the exterior may be difficult to reach if the bag is turned toward the aisle or packed tightly beside other cases. Check whether the power bank stays inside and whether the cable can connect without opening the main compartment. In practice, a port is most useful while the bag is beside you or under the seat, rather than buried in an overhead bin. Keep your phone and power bank accessible if you expect to charge during the flight.
Will an expandable 20-inch carry-on fit every airline’s cabin limit?
No single size label guarantees acceptance across all airlines. Carriers can measure the case differently, and the wheels, handles, and expanded depth count toward its exterior dimensions. Compare the listed measurements with the rules for each airline on your itinerary, especially if you have a connection or a basic fare with a smaller allowance. If the case is close to a limit, avoid expanding it for that flight and do not overfill front pockets. A compact personal-item bag can also reduce the need to rely on extra carry-on capacity.
Is a front laptop compartment worth giving up packing space?
It is worthwhile when you frequently remove a laptop at security or want work essentials close by during a trip. The tradeoff is that the compartment occupies some of the case’s depth and may add weight toward the front. If you already carry a laptop in a personal item, the feature may add bulk without improving access. Check whether the compartment accommodates your device dimensions rather than relying on a general “laptop compartment” label. Also consider whether the front-loaded bag remains comfortable to roll when fully packed.
Should I choose a luggage set or a single USB carry-on?
Choose a single carry-on if most trips are short and you value a simpler bag that is easier to store and manage. A set can make sense for a household or for travelers who regularly switch between weekend trips and longer journeys. Before choosing a set, check which pieces have the charging port and whether their dimensions suit your typical airline use; the feature may not be present on every case. More pieces also mean more storage space at home and more hardware to maintain. Compare the actual pieces you expect to use rather than choosing by the total number of cases.
Conclusion
For most travelers, I’d choose the OIWAS expandable carry-on as the best overall option because it pairs USB access with a practical single-case format and expandable storage. For value-minded buyers, compare the basic 20-inch hardside carry-ons and prioritize verified dimensions and wheel details over add-ons you will rarely use. For a premium-style setup, the LOVEVOOK 22-inch model is the pick for shoppers drawn to its stated airline-size format and USB charging, though they should verify measurements against their carriers. For beginners, a straightforward expandable carry-on is easier to pack and manage than a top-opening design or multi-piece set. Choose the Merax set for several trip lengths, or a front-pocket model if laptop access is your priority; skip those layouts if you want the simplest, least bulky case.
Fall Picks

DJI Osmo Action 4 Essential Combo Waterproof 4K Action Camera
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















